Finally, I got to do some real teaching.

Today I actually got to teach. It was nothing in the lesson plan and nothing in the school books. My 6th period today was only four students. I asked what that was about a student said “We’re…um…special. We’re the idiot math class.” Now this bothered me. I never want a student to think that they’re stupid, especially if it’s because they don’t “get” math. I never get math either so I knew what it was like for them. I asked them if they had trouble remembering things such as names, dates or important things to do, if they were good at art, dancing, singing or something else creative and basically went through my own list of characteristics. I began to explain that thy were right brained as opposed to left brain. They thought in different ways than other people. They were excellent at reading comprehension, but couldn’t spell to save their lives. I explained that that didn’t slow me down from doing what I love doing; writing. I showed them this website with all my art and books and explained to them that they needed to find what they loved doing and were good at and really work hard on those. So what that they sucked at math, they’d be wonderful at other things. Basically it was an hour long pep-talk to them and to myself. If anything, I wanted them to see their real potential, not the gray, lifeless, hopeless potential the public school system shoves down their throats.

~ by Minimum Wage Historian on April 19, 2011.

2 Responses to “Finally, I got to do some real teaching.”

  1. Wow, Zach, you probably did more good for those kids, than all the teachers, they’ve had so far. You need to be doing this. You need to teach in some capacity. You were born to it. All of your talents, make you a very special person. But this could be a calling.

  2. That’s amazing Zach! There are people getting paid 20x more than you, but whose work will never measure up to what you accomplished today. I know it sounds cliche, but it’s true, and you can take pride in that.

Leave a Reply

 
