Starting to make it

Not financially, but Larry’s book, Hard Magic; Book I of the Grimnoir Chronicles comes out this week and my art will be in it! At first I was told that the pictures would be tiny, so I drew them simply with little detail in a noir type style. When I saw the test copy, my art was full page! I have to say that it was completely awesome to see my art in a book! I don’t even consider myself that good of an artist, so this was a real honor. Larry’s a great guy in real life, one of the best and I gladly volunteered to do the art for free. It was a privilege and an honor. I loved his Monster Hunter books but I love Grimnoir even better. If MHI was a 10 out of 10, Hard Magic is an 11. I know you think I’m just blowing hot air because my art happens to be in it, but I’m very serious. I’ve seldom read a more enjoyable book. It’s absolutely fun, intense, dramatic, funny and exciting all at the same time. I’m highly jealous of his writing skills. My books feel like film student-made indie dramas about two people arguing at a kitchen table by comparison, while books are more like Iron man, 300, Matrix and Inception all rolled into one. Yeah, I’m jealous. But its a good jealousy.

~ by Minimum Wage Historian on May 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
