Restart

It’s always difficult to get back into writing a book I’ve stopped a while ago. The secret to writing a book in a month (at least for me) is inertia. Once I go, I have to keep going. If I stop, it throws everything off track and it takes me a while to get back to speed. Like a freight train, once I get going, I’m going one direction very fast. Throw me off the track however, it takes me a lot of effort to get that same speed back. If I can keep my energy going, the book eventually comes to write itself. It takes on a life of its own. However, I have to work to get to that state. The longer I stay in that groove, the better. Now I have to work to get back in that groove.

~ by Minimum Wage Historian on June 13, 2011.

3 Responses to “Restart”

  1. OMG! I feel exactly like this, only I couldn’t describe it as well as you. Thank you for putting that into words! It drives me crazy. I have 3 kids and so I feel like my atention is constantly being pulled from the page. Pus I have horrible A.D.D When I get going it flows and I feel like, wow, I can really SEE it happeing in my head and the words just fly onto the page, but the slightest intteruption of my consentration and boom, slink, i’s gone! Grrrr…Have you figure out how to get past this? I sure haven’t.

    • The only thing that’s worked for me (and not in all cases) is re-reading everything I’ve written from the beginning. It takes a while, but it’s the only way I can get back into the flow. If I get the ball rolling, it increases my creativity drastically. If not, then it all tumbles down. 😦

    • Oh, one more thing, try to write at least one page a day, that one page will help keep the momentum.

Leave a Reply

 
