Hard at Work

In three days I’ve gotten up to 85 pages in Gorgon II. I’m aiming for 600 pages this time which will make it my largest book. I’ve always held at the 400 page limit because that’s what publishers wanted from first time authors. Now that I don’t have worry about publishers’ BS I can write what I want and make it as long as I want it. There is a certain freedom that comes with self publishing that I love. However, the downside is that unless I publicize my books, no one’s ever going to read them. I HAVE to find a way to get word of my books out. I’m just not selling very many. I went on a history forum to talk about “Edge of the Empire” but that didn’t work. So I have to find other history forums. Also, the other books don’t really fit into any neat niche subjects. I’ll have to see what I can come up with. Does anyone know how one goes about advertising on the internet?

~ by Minimum Wage Historian on June 22, 2011.

4 Responses to “Hard at Work”

  1. Have you tried Facebook Ads and Google AdWords? They seem to be the “everyday man” approach to getting the word out for their business or product. Here is the link for the Facebook Ads

    http://www.facebook.com/help/?page=860

    The Google AdWords link was way too long to put in this comment, but you can always look it up. Also I think this one costs money to place an ad, but don’t really know.

  2. Hmmm….interesting. I’ll seriously have to look into that. I’ve been trying to find ways to advertise. My promoting isn’t going so well, but as soon as I start my new job I’ll work on actual advertising.

  3. I’m sure that working in advertising will help you learn how to market you books better. By the way i have a blog, lesliewilliams08@wordpress.com. Mainly deals with various subjects like humor ( the dry, witty kind) my poems and short stories.. There is half of a story about a clone i posted. I havent decided yet if it will be a novella of a plain short story. I also plan to give my two cents about the Michelle Bachman debacle. I studied African American history extensively at Florida State, so i may be able to shed some light on the subject. Anyway, i’m enjoying your blog.

  4. Ummm…I gave you the wrong blog add, sorry it’s leswilliams08,wordpress.com. : Z

Leave a Reply

 
