On Self Publishing

Is self publishing what I had imagined my writing career to be? Not at all. I had always dreamed of that moment when an agent or publisher would say “yes! We want to publish your book!” And then I’d spread the news, people would cheer and I’d get a royalty check. As it is, no one ever accepted my books, I never got that victorious moment and no crowds cheered. In fact, most people just kind of shrugged. So, those are the downsides; besides the fact that I’ll never be rich, famous or even moderately well known. However, the upsides are, I don’t have to wait a year to see my book in print. (okay, I’m only on E-books) I can write whatever the heck I want and if my first book doesn’t sell well, I won’t go into the downward spiral of mediocrity. However, is self publishing the place where mediocre writers go to be forgotten? Not necessarily. There are some fantastic books that are self published. Larry Correia’s “Monster Hunter International” was passed over and self published but we all know that that book kicked major butt. Am I saying I’m a good writer that hasn’t been discovered yet? I doubt it. Maybe I am good, but I honestly don’t think my books will appeal to a wide audience. I just don’t know how to write the big blockbuster that everyone will like. (I’d be happy with a sleeper hit though!!) I actually don’t know how good of a writer I am. I love reading my own books, but I don’t know how others will like them. A few people seem to but my books never seem to gain the excitement that some other books seem to get. I think its the difference between Inception, Dark Knight, Iron Man, etc vs. some indie film that three people will watch and love. I think I’m firmly in the “Indie” crowd. Great. I’m the indie movie of the lit world. I wrote a violent space opera, but I think two people have bought it. I did a unique, but action filled take on fantasy and I think my ghost story rocks, but perhaps their too indie. I don’t know. I’d like to write books that get people excited, but I’m not sure I know how. My ideas are always down to earth, simple and kind of a low simmer as opposed to a hard boil of some other successful books. Perhaps I should try for a less indie book. I didn’t bother submitting Shattered Lands to the agents because I knew that no agent is looking for something like “War and Peace” but with monsters.  I guess what I’m saying is that I’m wondering if I have in fact landed in mediocrity and if I deserve to be there.

~ by Minimum Wage Historian on June 29, 2011.

2 Responses to “On Self Publishing”

  1. The Commie part of me would suggest that you’re spreading your work amongst the proletariat so that they can spend a few enjoyable hours reading an interesting narrative. The money falls behind the idea.
    The Capitalist would say that advertising is the key to turning people on to what you’re selling. All you can do is keep putting it out there until someone figures out your books are what they want.

    Either way, you’re doing it the right way.

    Whatever keeps you writing…

    • I do love to serve the proletariat and stick to the man as much as I can, but this boy does need some money. Also, the more readers, the more people read my stories. I want people to read my stories.

Leave a Reply

 
