My life in turmoil

You may have noticed that I haven’t been the most productive gent in the world lately. That is due to my life being in total chaos this past month. In one month I have A.) Moved to the Salt Lake City area. B.) Found a job that continued to Jerk me around preventing me from actually working. C.) Moved in with my Aunts and uncle who never spoke to me except to criticize and lecture me. They told me that I need to “start dressing like everyone else” so they got me a bunch of used brightly colored polo shirts. (For those of you who know me know that I would never willingly wear something like that.) I purposefully don’t dress like everyone else. Why would I ever want to? D.) Found a real job. Full time with benefits and crappy pay. Night shift. Easy stuff. E.) And the best of all, I got a girlfriend. A full time position. She’s Nivi Pix and she’s a famous cos-player, working on a promotional web site for “Uprising,” selling T-shirts and hoodies, and working on her photography. She has a few dozen other projects that are all awesome, including a “girls of the zombie apocalypse” calender. Now that I’m finally getting settled in I’ll be able to get back to work. First up: More promotional work for Mike Kupari and Larry Correia’s book, “Dead Six.” Then, I’ll be writing my “Uprising: Italia.” Then I’ll finally get back to writing “Venice Ghost Story.” After ALL of that, I’ll finally get to write something new. Either my “Gorgon” sequel, a reduex of my first novel I ever wrote, or a completely new one. Sci-fi? Fantasy? Historical Fiction? A mix between different genres? Hmmm…. either way, I have a LOT of time to think about it before I get to it.

~ by Minimum Wage Historian on September 17, 2011.

9 Responses to “My life in turmoil”

  1. Yes, that’s my girlfriend. She’s real and for some reason I can’t fathom, she loves me.

  2. Dude that is one crazy month. BUT it’s been good changes. You have a GF that lives you, a job and finally a place to live that isn’t filed with hyper-critical relatives. Crazy but good month.

  3. I know what you mean about family telling you to dress like “everyone else”. My sister dragged me shopping once and tried to dress my like a 50 year old school marm. Umm…sorry not into that. She actually asked me if i was a lesbian! Im sorry if i dont prefer to wear ruffles! I prefer chucky boots, jeans,Utility jackets etc. GOOD GRIEF! I know where youre coming from.

  4. Umm….corrections to be made:

    A) Is not famous.
    B) ADORES you. Not just loves you.

    Zach, you’re amazing, and I can’t even think about you a second without smiling. You’re well rounded, cultured, intelligent beyond all reason, charming, a geek (and that’s a compliment from this chick), a super big sweetheart, funny, exciting, and what’s even more amazing is…everytime we’re together I get the pleasure of experiencing all these emotions over again. Why I love you isn’t really for you to understand I guess, but as long as you know I -do- love you, that’s all that matters.

    Babe, you may not feel like you can be that best selling author, that super hero in a cape saving a bus full of nuns, or that knight in shining armor to the world…but you’re something much, much more than that, and then some.

    You’re the man that takes my breath of way…

  5. Change always hurts. It sounds like you’ve weathered the worst of it and are ready to start a new chapter, (Pun intended) of your life.

    Don’t even try to understand why the female species acts the way they do. It’ll make your head explode. 😉

    I can tell from her comment she loves you. You are a lucky man. I can’t wait to hang out with you guys at LTUE next year.

    Now write some more Gorgon II.

  6. Well, if Nivi’s comments are any indication, you’re one lucky SOB, Zach. Seriously.

    And don’t sweat the tough times too much. They go away eventually, you start doing pretty well, and then the hard times come back again and you deal with them once more. It always seems to be a vicious cycle. At least, that’s the way it is with me. Overcoming adversity builds character they tell me, so I must have a shite-ton of it by now. 😉

    Bought all your books. I enjoy them. Hell, I think I’ve read Behind the Shroud three times, and I usually freaking HATE romance novels. It must be the addition of guns and ghosts that made BtS work. That and the fact that I’ve got an Adriana of my own from way back when that occasionally tortures me with regret.

    Keep working at your writing and don’t give up. Some authors write a dozen books or more before they make it big time. IIRC, Brandon Sanderson had fourteen books written by the time he sold his first one.

    We can’t all be Larry Friggin’ Correia, not that it doesn’t stop any of us from trying. 🙂

    On that vein, if there was any observation I could make on your writing, it would be to inject more of the style you throw out on the Minimum Wage Historian into your books. You’ve got a hell of a fun style when you write your historical essays, and I’ve enjoyed every one. I’d like to see more of that kind of thing in your books.

    I vote for a genre-mix for your next book. You’ve got enough historical knowledge and the ability to explain it all entertainingly, that you could write a ripping secret historical-urban fantasy-action yarn, or something along those lines.

    No doubt I’ll see you and Matt this year at LTUE again. Last year’s was a blast, and this time I’m getting all three days off to attend. Yay.

    • I’ve actually been thinking about a historical fantasy/horror of some kind. Dude, you freaking read my mind. Awesome. Yes, I absolutely LOVE writing those “Minimum Wage Historian” blogs. That’s my idea of fun. I’ll see what I can do to inject more of that into a book. Hmmm…..now you got me thinking.

Leave a comment